Faculty elected to National Academy of Sciences

Thirteen University of California faculty members have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences for 2012. Additionally, a foreign associate was named from UC Berkeley. Election to the academy is considered one of the highest honors that can be accorded to a U.S. scientist.

New members, by campus, include:

UC Berkeley

  • John F. Hartwig, professor of chemistry and Henry Rapoport Chair in Organic Chemistry, Department of Chemistry

  • Mary Power, professor, Department of Integrative Biology

  • Bernard Sadoulet, professor, Department of Physics

UC Davis

  • Harris A. Lewin, vice chancellor for research and Robert and Rosabel Osborne Endowed Chair in Evolution and Ecology 


  • Sabeeha Merchant, professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry 

UC Riverside

  • Natasha V. Raikhel, Distinguished Professor of Plant Cell Biology and director, Center for Plant Cell Biology, Department of Botany and Plant Sciences 

UC San Diego

  • Roberto Malinow, professor, Department of Neuroscience

  • Ruth J. Williams, Charles Lee Powell Distinguished Professor, Department of Mathematics

  • William R. Young, professor of physical oceanography, Scripps Institution of Oceanography

UC San Francisco

  • Louis J. Ptáček, investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and John C. Coleman Distinguished Professorship in Neurodegenerative Diseases 

UC Santa Barbara

  • Napoleon A. Chagnon, professor emeritus, Department of Anthropology

  • Matthew P. Fisher, professor, Kavli Institute of Theoretical Physics and Department of Physics

Lawrence Berkeley Lab

  • John B. Bell, senior staff scientist and group leader, Center for Computational Sciences and Engineering 

John Clarke, professor, Department of Physics, UC Berkeley, (United Kingdom) was named a foreign associate to the academy.

This year’s class brings UC faculty membership in the academy to 258.

source: University of California at San Diego

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks

Related Articles:

CSU to Use Digital Text Books for Fall Pilot Program
The Gruaer School Awarded Prestigious UNESCO Membership
"It Takes a Village to Create Change" Conference
StatRad Expands RadConnect Image Sharing Platform to Offer Radiology Second…

Something to Say? Leave a Comment!


Everything San Diego is a community-focused Web site devoted to news, arts, entertainment and events. Learn more about us ».

EverythingSD By Email

Sign up for our Email Newsletter and get Everything San Diego delivered to your inbox daily.

Click here to sign up now!

SD Community Online

Follow, Like or Friend us.

facebook link twitter link rss link

© 2009-2011 TalkStory Media: Community news and web publishing.